The Shape of the New Honduran Government

Friday, January 31, 2014

The Honduran government under Juan Orlando Hernández is on a slimming diet that hopes to save 4000 million lempiras (about $190 million).

It will accomplish this slimming by radically restructuring the government and its bureaucracy.  As a first step, Honduras has already gone from having 38 cabinet level Ministers, to having only seven.  There will be a total of twelve Subsecretaries, all of them reporting to one of the seven ministers.

Here’s the seven ministries, and what existing government institutions will be preserved under them:

0.  Executive Branch Administration (no official name announced)
Minister – Reinaldo Sanchez
Advisor – Ebal Diaz
Communications and Strategy – Hilda Hernandez
Coordinator – Jorge Ramon Hernandez Alcerro

*1.  Gabinete de Competitividad y Empleo  (Competiveness and Employment)
Minister – Alden Rivera
S. de Trabajo – Carlos Alberto Madero Erazo
S. de Desarrollo Economico – Jorge Lobo
SERNA (Secretaria de Recursos Naturales) – José Antonio Galdámez

*2. Gabinete de Economia y Finanzas (Economy and Finances)
Minister – Wilfredo Cerrato
BCH (Banco Central de Honduras) – Marlon Tabora
DEI (equivalent of the IRS) – Miriam Guzman

*3.  Gabinete de Energia e Infraestructura (Energy and Infrastructure)
Minister – Roberto Ordoñez
SOPTRAVI (Secretaria de Obras Publicas) – Roberto Ordoñez

*4.  Gabinete de Gobernabilidad y Modernización (Government and Modernization)
Minister – Ricardo Alvarez
S. de Interior y Poblacion – Rigoberto Chang Castillo

*5.  Gabinete de Inclusion y Desarrollo Social (Participation and Social Development)
Minister – Lisandro Rosales
S. de Salud – Yolany Batres
S. de Educación – Marlon Escoto

*6.  Gabinete de Seguridad (Security)
Minister – Arturo Corrales
Vice Minister – Alejandra Hernandez
S. de Seguridad – Arturo Corrales
S. de Defensa – Samuel Reyes

7.  Gabinete de Relaciones Exteriores
Minister – Mireya Aguero de Corrales

While a lot of decisions remain to be made, the following Secretaries of State are abolished:

1. Secretaria de Cultura, Artes y Deportes
2. Secretaria de Planificacion y Cooperacion Externa
3. Secretaria de Turismo
4. Secretaria de Justicia y Derechos Humanos
5. Secretaria de Pueblos Indigenas y Afrodescendientes
6. Secretaria de la Juventud

“Abolished” here means that these are no longer Secretarias de Estado, cabinet-level offices. It is not that their functions will necessarily go away.

Those functions will be evaluated. Jorge Ramon Hernandez Alcerro, the Coordinator in the Presidential Ministry, has the responsibility for keeping each Ministry to its assigned goals, and for determining by Tuesday, February 4, how the functions of each secretaria that is not being continued get integrated into the existing structure.

As a hint at what may happen: Alden Rivera has explained that in his Ministry,  Competitividad y Empleo,  there are currently twenty-one institutions and those will be reduced to twelve.

So stay tuned.  There will be more changes.

Posted by at 5:18 PM


, ,

  1. Deja un comentario


Introduce tus datos o haz clic en un icono para iniciar sesión:

Logo de

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )

Google photo

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Google. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )

Imagen de Twitter

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Twitter. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )

Foto de Facebook

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Facebook. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )

Conectando a %s

A %d blogueros les gusta esto: